top of page

Next SEAEDD Board Meeting:

December 9, 2021 at Noon at the Pine Bluff Convention Center

Regional Solid Waste Management District Information


The mission of the Southeast Arkansas Regional Solid Waste Management District is to provide a comprehensive level of Solid Waste Management services to all District residents that strives to be efficient in terms of operations and cost considerations.


The Southeast Arkansas Regional Solid Waste Management District (SEARSWMD) was originally created in July of 1989 under the authority of Act 870 of 1989 as one of eight “Districts” in the State of Arkansas. Act 870 originally named the districts as “Regional Solid Waste Planning Boards”. Each Board was given specific powers and duties as provided in Act 870. Some of these duties included preparation of “Regional Solid Waste Needs Assessments” and issuance of “Certificates of Need” to applicants for Solid Waste Disposal Facility permits within their jurisdictions. Act 752 of 1991 renamed the Solid Waste Planning Districts created by Act 870 as “Regional Solid Waste Management Districts”. Each district was to be governed by a Regional Solid Waste Management Board. Act 752 expanded the powers and duties of the districts, as well as allowing the boundaries of the districts to be modified. Waste tires, composting, recycling, and hauler licensing requirements were included in the responsibilities added to the districts as a result of Act 752 of 1991. The ten counties of the Southeast Arkansas Regional Solid Waste Management District were the fourth in the state to set up a Board. The Board members are made up of the ten-county judges and mayors of the ten larger cities in Southeast Arkansas with three members being at large for a total of 23 members. In July of 1989, the Board members designated the Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District (SEAEDD, Inc.) to perform the required Needs Assessment, and to this day the Solid Waste Board is in a working partnership with and under the management of SEAEDD, Inc.

Visit our Solid Waste & Recycling Website - 

Board of Directors

Chairman - Judge Eddie Best
Vice Chair - Judge Mack Ball
Secretary - Mayor Joe Wise
Treasurer - Mayor Paul Carter

Arkansas County

The Honorable Eddie Best
Arkansas County Judge
Arkansas County Courthouse
DeWitt, AR 72042
DeWitt Office: 870-946-4321
Stuttgart Office: 870-673-3051

The Honorable David Earney
Mayor of Stuttgart
304 South Maple
Stuttgart, AR 72160

The Honorable James Black
Mayor of DeWitt
120 Court Square
DeWitt, AR 72042

Ashley County

The Honorable Jim Hudson
Ashley County Judge
Ashley County Courthouse
Hamburg, AR 71646

The Honorable Dane Weindorf
Mayor of Hamburg
Hamburg City Hall
Hamburg, AR 71646

The Honorable Scott McCormick
Mayor of Crossett
Crossett City Hall
Crossett, AR 71635

Bradley County

The Honorable Klay McKinney
Bradley County Judge
101 E. Cedar Street
Warren, AR 71671

The Honorable Denisa Pennington
Mayor of Warren
P.O. Box 352
Warren, AR 71671

Chicot County

The Honorable Mack Ball, Jr.
Chicot County Judge
417 Main St.
Lake Village, AR 71653

The Honorable Joe Dan Yee
Mayor of Lake Village
P.O. Box 725
Lake Village, AR 71653

The Honorable Walter Donald
Mayor of Dermott
P.O. Box 371
Dermott, AR 71638

The Honorable Johnathan Patrick
Interim Mayor of Eudora
Eudora City Hall
Eudora, AR 71640

Cleveland County

The Honorable Gary Spears
Cleveland County Judge
P. O. Box 348
Rison, AR 71665

The Honorable Vernon Dollar
Mayor of Rison
Rison City Hall
Rison, AR 71665

Desha County

The Honorable Richard Tindall
Desha County Judge
Desha County Courthouse
Arkansas City, AR 71630

The Honorable Flora Simon
Mayor of Dumas
P.O. Box 157
Dumas, AR 71639

The Honorable Jeff Owyoung
Mayor of McGehee
McGehee City Hall
McGehee, AR 71654

Drew County

The Honorable Robert Akin
Drew County Judge
Drew County Courthouse
Monticello, AR 71655

The Honorable Paige Chase
Mayor of Monticello
Monticello City Hall
Monticello, AR 71655

Grant County

The Honorable Randy Pruitt
Grant County Judge
101 W. Center St., Rm. 101
Sheridan, AR 72150

The Honorable Joe Wise
Mayor of Sheridan
P. O. Box 44
Sheridan, AR 72150-2553

Jefferson County

The Honorable Gerald Robinson 
Jefferson County Judge
101 W. Barraque
Pine Bluff, AR 71601

The Honorable Shirley Washington
Mayor of Pine Bluff
Pine Bluff City Hall
Pine Bluff, AR 71601

The Honorable Noel Foster
Mayor of White Hall
White Hall City Hall
Pine Bluff, AR 71602

Lincoln County

The Honorable Buddy Lynn Earnest
Lincoln County Judge
Lincoln County Courthouse
Star City, AR 71667

The Honorable Paul Carter
Mayor of Star City
P.O. Box 219
Star City, AR 71667

Southeast Arkansas Economic Development District


Physical Address
721 S. Walnut Street
Pine Bluff, AR 71601


Mailing Address
P.O. Box 6806
Pine Bluff, AR 71611



Tel. 870-536-1971

bottom of page